Dilly-dallying at Dali, a.k.a. Bad pun on a beginner’s review of a beginning food spot

Days since the 2nd of June had been a constant staring contest with a queerly moustached man. His pointed brows twitch at my direction every time I look up at his tarpaulin, hinting—more of mortifying—me to come around his place and take a sip at the bloody cocktail sitting beneath his portrait. I thought, ‘Well of course, good sir, I shall find time to visit soon.’ With the address in mind, I scrammed off to our office.

Finding a suitable companion was just as difficult as securing the day to visit, what I imagined to be, the dimly lit abode of the twitchy moustached man. And it is always sorry to try novelties with a disinterested or incapable soul. Until my good friend “I” sought for a get-together lunch on June 18 to breathe from law school.

Armed with the street names and a vague imagination of the place, I and “I” took a good walk until we found ourselves at an intersection. Across stood a manor-like establishment, mostly made of wood and glass. I was unsure whether or not the place was already open until a security guard went to the door and ushered us in. Inside the double wooden door (which brings to mind vineyard manors) was a pair of glass doors where a courteous attendant rushed to greet us.

Long table for groups, with a view of the bar and the kitchen.

We were seated near an elevated bar yet to be furnished with glasses and liquors. Above that bar are two wide monitors playing black-and-white clips of what appears to be a feature on Catalan surrealist painter Salvador Dali. Intricate and polished wooden architecture, and glass panels that let natural light in consist the restaurant, disproving my ever morbid imagination that depicted the place as “dimly-lit.” Printed copies of Dali’s paintings mostly framed the walls. Wooden tables are slated neatly and can accommodate groups. Couches by the glass window and al fresco tables are available for more intimate meetings.

Dali’s bar with two LCD monitors showcasing features on the surrealist painter.

A table attendant named Louie (hope I spelled her name correctly) gave us our menus and a separate menu for the cocktails. We were also served with complimentary bread and a cold savory dip. Minutes of talking caused me not to have an order yet. Sensing this, Louie approached our table and cited recommendations and house specialties. She also offered us to try their Sangria but I hesitated since I still have work after.

As I am awfully easy to sway into trying different things, I took Louie’s suggestion and ordered for SOLOMILLO (P295), which is Español for “sirloin.” Meanwhile, my friend “I” had POLLO CON PEREJIL Y PIMENTON (P235), roughly translated as “chicken with parsley and paprika.”

While talking about our fundamental and expansion plans for this blog site / portfolio, we were served with our drinks, about which Louie asked for our feedback. My ICED GREEN TEA (P65) was still untouched so I took a quick sip. The concoction was too sweet for a green tea yet the refreshing hint was still present. I wonder whether or not it was a house blend.

Place for an afternoon stay.

Louie informed us that the restaurant was on its soft opening, which made me happy to be among the firsts to sample their menu. Despite the obvious homage to the painter Dali, I persisted on the why. According to Louie, the word “dali” means “to give” (which I tried to verify in some dictionaries and the Internet but to no avail). She added that the owners are fond of the painter, hence “DALI RESTAURANTE Y BAR DE TAPAS (Dali Restaurant and Snack Bar).” Poking more details from Louie, she revealed that aside from two families, Quezon City Mayor Herbert Bautista and Philippine Team Azkals Manager Dan Palami co-own Dali. Failing to resist my “fangirl” tendency, I became giddy, to which Louie encouragingly responded by telling me that the Azkals were at the restaurant two days before leaving for Germany on June 11 to train (and a day before I had pictures taken with them at our office building).

Our orders arrived as I pacified. “I’s” Pollo Con Perejil y Pimenton was an oven-baked chicken crusted with parsley and paprika, cradled in SOFRITO (sauce made from aromatic ingredients cut to small pieces and sauteed for quite some time). The dish also comes with honey-glazed, roasted eggplants, cauliflowers and carrots, and white rice blanketed with black bean sauce. Being a full-fledged carnivore, “I” said that she reveled on the “well-cooked chicken” and left the vegetables (yes, including the “black bean touch”) untouched.

“I” definitely eyed the chicken like a prized possession amidst this garden of veggies.

On the other hand, the Solomillo was  a pleasant dish with a simple and unpretentious presentation. The fillet mignon was fairly thick and juicy, albeit the chewiness that robbed my attention from the meat’s inherent taste. A coating of the salty and tangy sherry sauce defined the steak, though. Along with the fillet mignon is an herb bread pudding that has an interesting texture at first bite. Its crisp coat and soft inside had a cleansing effect on the palate, but must be eaten before the first hint of getting cold.

Solomillo bathing in camera flash.

Dali also has a wine bar and a spacious wine room with recently bottled spirits. For a “snack bar,” Dali is a breath of fresh air from neighboring casual diners and bars, and fitting place for cozy dining, especially on a day when you can watch the rain from the glass walls and ceilings.

Ambient light pouring in.

“K’s” RATINGS: (please bear with the primitive emoticons until I draft some decent ones)
:O (gasp! that’s just horrible!)
:( (sappy and crappy)
:| (meh. next please!)
:) (yay! on your way to awesomeness!)
:D (expect more of me soon!)

  • FOOD – :)
  • SERVICE – :)
  • AMBIANCE – :D
OVERALL RATING – :)

Dali Restaurante y Bar de Tapas

Visit Dali Restaurante y Bar de Tapas
40 Sgt. Esguerra St., cor. Eugenio Lopez Drive,
South Triangle, Quezon City

4 thoughts on “Dilly-dallying at Dali, a.k.a. Bad pun on a beginner’s review of a beginning food spot

    • Yhellow, Dude! Sa wakas, haha! Am seeing HP7 with the folks on the 17th, though. Maybe I can come to some after-movie date with you guys. :D

Thoughts?