Casual at Sancho’s.

Hi —

It’s been months and we’re sorry. Life has taken hold again. Moving forward, a lot of things has happened to both K and I. First off, I’m still trying to convince her to let go of her obsessive-compulsiveness and just write (maybe I could start a poll and you guys can help me with that). Second, I gained a sis-in-law and an adorable new niece. Third, K now has some romance in her life. (Ya, she’s basically left me in the world of NBSB–for those of you who are not Filipino or basically strangers to the colloquial term, it’s means “no boyfriend since birth”–a term coined by Chick Lit writer Claire Betita). And last, I’m still stuck in the crazy, crazy world of law school. We’re on break right now so I’m grabbing this chance to blog again. Forgive me, I’m rusty.

Doing two of our favorite things–eating and pigging out–oh, that’s just one thing haha, K and I chatted over Spanish food at Sancho’s. (If we’re being technical, I’d say more Filipino with Spanish influence.) If you either remember our previous post or have been to BRGR: The Burger Project, then you would have an idea as to where Sancho Churreria Manila is located. Establishing itself as one of the more known restaurants in the Maginhawa foodie strip, Sancho is a small, casual dining place offering your traditional pasta, churros and other Spanish meals. 

As this was really more of a spontaneous, serious, sit-down afternoon dinner, K and I limited ourselves to two general courses and an appetizer. I settled for the Salpicao (Php180), which was essentially beef tenderloin “cooked in olive oil and garlic”, a good helping of white rice and what I believe to be sliced green papayas (haha, sorry the carnivore in me doesn’t touch vegetables). I will not go into details nor use elaborate, flowery words of how good it was. The salpicao was tender. It reminded me a bit of adobo, an-all time Filipino favorite viand, because it was dripping from soy sauce and garlic but this was much less sweeter. The rice was cooked quite perfectly, still steaming yet not hilaw or half-cooked. Over-all, it was good–but sorry, quite forgettable.

And for appetizer–look! Melted cheese! Melted cheese is always a win. And with that, I wouldn’t even bother reviewing the Nachos (Php 100). Hahaha, seriously.

K helped herself to the Pasta Marinara (Php 175) and garlic bread. I found this a little more exceptional than the Salpicao. This seafood pasta was bathing in orange sauce–which I could only guess was already a good mix of tomato paste, spices and shrimp, clam and mussel juice. If you’re wondering how I knew it was delicious, then I’d say this is a good opportunity to share that K and I are the help-yourself-to-my-food-while-I-pick-on-yours sort of friends. Remembering how it tasted just makes me want to recreate the recipe. If you’re dropping by anytime soon, then it is worth the try. The garlic bread was just okay though.

Over-all, I’d say Sancho deserves a thumbs up. Service seemed consistent enough. The waiters and waitresses are just waiting on the side to serve customers, and quickly fill-up one’s glass with complimentary water without one even asking. With prices ranging from Php100-400, the food is also relatively cheap compared to other Spanish restaurants in the city. While the place is a bit cramped and will probably seat only around 10-15 people on any given day, its atmosphere is relaxed and its dimly-lit interiors seem quite nice for random friendly conversations or even romantic dates. I’ve never seen the place extremely busy so if you’re looking for a quiet place to catch up with friends, then this restaurant is perfect. (Try the churros too, I’ve been reading a lot about it!)

InkDependent Ratings:

Food + Ambience + Service = Over-all Rating –Photobucket

(and half a star?)

Visit Sancho Churreria Manila at 122 Maginhawa St., Teachers Village, Quezon City

(Inkdependent reserves its right of ownership over the photos in this post. Please do not copy. We hope you’d rather comment instead.)

Thoughts?

